MS Roots

June 5, 2011

Have you had his hearing checked?

Filed under: Mailhes — by tmailhes @ 2:17 am

When was his hearing checked?

Snow Day, February 2011

I finally was able to print and mail some pictures to my mother-in-law in New Orleans. She called to say how beautiful the children were and how she couldn’t wait for our visit this summer. I knew that she was going to ask if we’d had Gideon’s hearing checked. I was happy to report that we had.
My mother-in-law is deaf. She “hears” with powerful hearing aids and lip reading. She lost her hearing at 8 years old. Her uncle lost his hearing in childhood and her older son lost his hearing in adulthood.
It seems that the loss of hearing runs in my husband’s family. Through the genetic draw of cards, it has affected my mother-in-law around every turn.
Though, I doubt you would ever know she was deaf if you met her out and about. Before meeting my mother-in-law, my husband told me to always look her when I was speaking because she needed to read my lips. After speaking with her for a few minutes, I doubted that she was deaf at all! I was not completely convinced until one day my husband dropped a glass behind her and shouted an obscenity. She didn’t flinch and he touched her gently so that she was aware of the broken glass not a foot behind her.
My mother-in-law often joked, when we complained of being tired with a newborn in the house, that we should just turn our hearing aids off! She is very funny about her hearing loss. She is also very concerned about her grandchildren’s hearing. She always asks when was the last time that they had their hearing checked. She collects articles about coping with hearing loss…just in case.
Through research of my husband’s family, I have identified at least one person that has suffered hearing loss in each generation since the family came to the US in the mid-1800s.

2 Comments »

  1. I understand your mother-in-law. My thing with my own children were to have their eyes checked to make sure they did not inherit my cross eyes. I am sure when the grandchildren arrive, my question will be, have you had that child’s eyes checked.

    The little man in the picture is a cutey.

    Comment by LindaRe — June 6, 2011 @ 4:47 pm |Reply

  2. Aww..she sounds like such a lovely, caring & sweet lady. Guess that is why you married her son;) And isnt your baby precious. Mine is almost 10 mths old now.

    Comment by Robyn — June 9, 2011 @ 1:49 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Toni Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

