MS Roots

August 27, 2011

Genealogy Weekend – To Do List

Filed under: Uncategorized — by tmailhes @ 3:29 pm
 
Mattie Wright Hill and L C Hill

I’m taking some time today to get reorganized and really focus. I was on vacation last week and had a lot of fun spending time with family and collecting information. I have photos to scan and documents to transcribe and index. However, none of these things have anything to do with the current projects that I’m working on.

The Seals / Wright Family Tree: I’m spending the afternoon with the Seals and Wright families of Oktibbeha County, MS. I will be organizing existing data and following up with my dad and Aunt Louise that they are indeed recording their stories. I’m also waiting for a response from the Family Reunion committee about putting an asterisk after the surnames to show that Hill / Wright should more accurately be Sampson / McBride. (I don’t actually think that will happen). As you can see from the photo above, I’ve scanned a photo of my Grandma and Granddaddy Hill (check).

African American Special Interest Group: I will be speaking at the September meeting of AASIG, a special interest group of the Dallas Genealogical Society. I am able to present on a family line and can’t decide if I want to present about the search for Jesse Hill, my 4th great-grandfather or Myhalia Hathorn, my 4th great grandmother. I think that both of their stories and the research methods used are very interesting.

2011 Georgia Family History Expo: I will be presenting “Using the Genealogical Proof Standard and U.S. Census Records as a Foundation for Creating an Effective Research Plan” at the expo in Gwinnett, GA. I’m moving this one to the top of the list as my handouts have to be turned in shortly.

Examiner.com: Last year, I signed up to write for Examiner.com as the Garland Genealogy Examiner. Last month, I received my first check – the minimum $25.00 for a payout. It was only $25.00 but I was so excited. Since, I am super competitive, I’ve challenged myself to get that $25.00 every other month by publishing 25 articles every two months. Today, I will begin writing my articles for next week. The beginning of a month is always easy because I publish about upcoming local genealogical events! I’ll let you know if I get the $25.00 for September.

Okay, maybe I should have called this Genealogy Months…

2 Comments »

  1. Go ‘head, girlfriend! You are doing big things with those lectures. I love nothing more than to talk about family history & research. Teaching the Gen Proof Standard is always tricky for me. I have a class coming up soon & a lecture on Land Records on the 24th. Congrats & best of luck to you.

    Robyn

    Comment by msualumni — August 28, 2011 @ 3:21 am |Reply

    • Robyn – Thank you, thank you as always! The GPS is a good start for me because I’ve had so many failures prior to putting it into practice. I’m the poster child of “how not to research effectively”! Congrats to you as well and let me know how the lecture goes. I’m looking for pointers.

      Comment by tmailhes — August 29, 2011 @ 4:23 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Toni Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

