MS Roots

March 16, 2010

Waiting and Reading

Filed under: Reading — by tmailhes @ 3:27 am

I have ordered the Social Security applications for my maternal great-grandfather, W. Arthur Hathorn, and my paternal grandfather, L C Hill.

I have called and left a message for my cousin in Prentiss, MS to call me back.

I have questioned my dad about things he remembers and his answer was that no one talked about that kind of stuff.  And he’s sure that I can find everything I need online or just call my Aunt Louise.

I have called Aunt Louise and left a message to call me back.

While I’m waiting on records and phone calls, I have started reading. Right now I am finishing “Unpuzzling Your Past” by Emily Anne Croom.  I like this book because it is written the way that I learn best one concept at time with examples.  It is helping me make some choices about the focus of my research whether I want to start with the Hathorn / Griffith family or the Hill/Wright family.  Still not settled on that one.  I am sure my dad would be interested to know about his family, but the Hathorns were so easy to find!

Next I will be reading “Black Roots” by Tony Burroughs.  I’m very excited that a fellow family historian also recommended this book.  I guess I’m on the right track.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

